Share

Executive education

Doing business in a global world

In our globalized world with its fading borders, language and culture still constitute invisible barriers to international cooperation and exchange. Dauphine's Master's program in the new field of Cross-cultural Management is our contribution to breaking down those barriers.

Although economic globalization and the growing mobility of people, goods, services and information give us the illusion of a borderless world, cultural specificities, local customs and national biases have far from vanished. Large corporations and organizations, even armed with a solid institutional culture, are the first to feel the effects of persistent cultural differences and their impact on performance. But they are not alone….

Global horizons and the world 'at large'

"So how does one manage culturally diverse teams? What can we do to better integrate 'foreign' employees? How can we reduce the risk of discriminatory behavior, increase employees' capacity to work effectively in a culturally diverse environment while encouraging innovation and fostering shared values and practices? Those are just some of the issues at stake for cross-cultural managers not only in multinational groups but also in small and mid-size companies and even start-ups tempted by the 'world at large' and its global horizons," comments Philippe Pierre, consultant is human resources (GRH) and co-director with Jean-François Chanlat of Univeristé Paris-Dauphine's Master's in Cross-cultural Management.
During the 14-month Master's program, students study the cultures of the world's principal economies, their complexity and impact on the organizational structure of corporations and small and mid-size businesses.

Read what three of the program's graduates, now entrepreneurs, have to say about how the program helped them develop their businesses:


A brief overview of the Master's in international Cross-Cultural Management

The degree program was created in 2007 to train professionals specialized in a broad range of areas with cross-cultural management issues, such as partnerships, cross-border mergers and acquisitions, transfer of know-how; or everyday operations: marketing, communications, negotiations, implementing methods and procedures, decision-making or team management.

Visit the Master's web site: www.management-interculturel.dauphine.fr

Visit Philippe Pierre's web site: www.philippepierre.com

Return to the front page >>

Partager

Formation continue

Entreprendre dans un contexte mondialisé

Si les frontières s’estompent, la langue, la culture… constituent encore des « barrières » invisibles à la coopération et aux échanges internationaux. D’où l’intérêt du master de Dauphine qui forme à cette nouvelle discipline du  management interculturel.

La mondialisation de l’économie, la mobilité croissante des personnes, la circulation des biens, des services et de l’information, tout en nourrissant l’illusion d’un monde sans frontières, sont loin de balayer les différences nationales, les habitudes locales et les préjugés. Les grandes entreprises, par exemple, pourtant dotées d’une forte culture organisationnelle, sont les premières affectées par la persistance de différences culturelles et leurs impacts sur la performance. Mais elles ne sont pas les seules…

Prendre l’air du grand large

« Comment faire travailler alors des équipes “diversifiées” ? Comment y intégrer “l’étranger” ? Comment réduire les risques de comportements discriminatoires, augmenter la capacité des individus à travailler efficacement avec des personnes différentes, favoriser l’innovation et les communautés de pratiques ? Tels sont quelques-uns des enjeux du management interculturel qui concernent non seulement les groupes internationaux mais aussi les PME ou les start-up tentées par l’air du grand large », résume Philippe Pierre, consultant en gestion des ressources humaines (GRH), qui codirige, avec Jean-François Chanlat, le master Management interculturel de l’Université Paris-Dauphine.
Cet enseignement complet consacre 14 mois à l’étude des cultures des principaux pays du monde, pour intégrer leur complexité et leur impact sur les modes d’organisation des grands groupes et PME. Trois de ses diplômés, créateurs ou repreneurs d’entreprise, en ont tiré l’essentiel de sa substance pour développer leur activité :

A lire également :

Le master Management interculturel en bref

Ce diplôme universitaire, créé en 2007, a pour objectif de former des experts capables de faire face à de multiples situations de management interculturel. Que ce soit dans le cadre de partenariats, de fusions et acquisitions internationales, de transferts de savoir-faire ou dans le cadre de situations rencontrées quotidiennement à l’intérieur de l’entreprise : marketing, communication, négociation, mise en place de processus de travail, prise de décision, gestion d'équipes.

Le site du master : www.management-interculturel.dauphine.fr

Le site de Philippe Pierre : www.philippepierre.com

Retour à l'accueil >>